Favorite products of 2016

I just realized I have a whole pile of stuff I bought with the intention of writing a really elaborate article about which products were worth buying and which ones didn’t live up to the hype. As any true makeup addict I don’t buy only high end things, I buy anything and everything that looks appealing or has gotten great reviews! Between March and June I accumulated a lot of products thanks to that lovely Ulta discount and the influence of my coworkers. I’ll begin with skincare products that saved my life. Towards the beginning of 2016 my skin was in bad shape, I had a lot of break outs, and it was moderately oily. So finding something that would help my skin without irritating it was a process but my favorites at that time was Mario Badescu Drying Lotion ($19), Peter Thomas Roth Irish Moor Mud Purifying Black Mask ($58), Mario Badescu Acne Facial cleanser ($15), and Mario Badescu Facial spray with Aloe, Herb, and Rosewater ($7). The one product that helped my acne the most was the drying lotion, there was an overnight difference. I never found a product that completely cleared my skin though. It wasn’t until quite recently that my skin started clearing up thanks to some miracle products my coworkers recommended to me (I’ll talk about those products in another post). As for foundations that I fell in love with while working at Ulta, there are quite a few! Keep in mind I needed very heavy coverage or at least felt like i needed pretty heavy coverage so using covergirl wasn’t going to look too cute on my skin. One of my go-to foundations was Tarte Amazonian clay ($45), it’s full coverage, long lasting, and great for oily skin but it was a little too thick for my liking. Another decent foundation was Urban Decay Naked Skin ($40), it’s comparably to Lancome Teint Idole Ultra 24H foundation ($47), they are both full coverage but lightweight. My all time favorite primer to this day is the Benefit POREfessional primer ($31), it gave my skin a really nice matte finish for the whole day and it made my pores nonexistent. Elizabeth Arden has a primer very similar to the Benefit one and I will be reviewing that in another post. As for eyeshadow and lipstick recommendations I’ll try to narrow it down to the best of the best. My most used eyeshadow palette is my tartelette in bloom, it’s full of beautiful warm shades and burgundy’s. Even after buying multiple other palettes I always reach for the tartelette and even use it for my contour on occasions. It also still has its chocolate scent to it! For favorite lip products I bought, I’d have to say my too faced melted lipstick in the shade “sugar” and my NYX intense lip butter in the shade “Cookie Butter”. All of these products are still available to buy and I highly recommend them all! That concludes my 2016 favorites, I have many, many new cosmetic and skincare favorites for this year and will post them at the end of the month!

Until next time!

xoxo

Melissa

2 thoughts on “Favorite products of 2016

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

